top of page

EVELEEN MYERS


Eveleen Myers is another photographer who was featured in the 'A Century of Photography' exhibition. Myers was an English photography who mostly took images of her family and visitors. The piece above is named 'Adelaide Passingham', an 11 in x 8 in platinum print made in the early 1890's. She was featured in two of Eveleen Myers images and she was believed to be a close friend of the subject's. While Adelaide Passingham was the daughter of a rich father, in this portrait she looks sombre and unkempt. Her hair is messy and her clothes are loose and ragged looking. Obviously when I saw the image I had never heard of the subject and would never have known she had a rich upbringing unless I had researched into it, in fact I assumed the opposite. I like the innocence and of the image and the emotion in the photo, which again is something I aim to do in my art work, have the viewer think about more than just the look of the image and instead get into the subject's mind.


Recent Posts
bottom of page