top of page

EMIL OTTO HOPPE


Emil Otto Hoppe was one of the artists featured in the 'A Century of Photography 1840-1940)' exhibition which I visited at the National Portrait Gallery in London. The image above is called 'Tilly Losch' and sizes at only 7 in. x 8 in and was produced in 1928 on gelatin silver print. The piece, to me, stood out against other images as there was no other photograph which features such a close up portrait. The photography actually used many images of Tilly Losch in his work, who was an Austrian actress and painter. I enjoy studying portraits and the subject's features, and with this being took in the 1920's and being such good quality it was even more interesting to look at; to see how styles have changed and just to wonder what the actress was thinking is something that really interests me and this is something I like to capture in my own work.


Recent Posts
bottom of page